top of page

In Tarifa, Spain for the autumn raptor migration

I am in Tarifa, Spain for one of the most world-renowned events in the birding world: the autumn raptor migration across the Strait of Gibraltar. This migration draws hundreds of thousands of birds (~600,000) from July-October and almost as many people from across Europe, Scandanavia, the U.K., and-because I'm representing-Los Estados Unidos. My first five days at the observation sites with Fundación Migres have been some of the most memorable of my life. I am learning from the experts and forging lifelong friendships.

I completed my third full day at the observation site and can already identify las calzadas (Booted Eagles), los milanos (Black Kites), los alimoches (Egyptian Vulture), los abejeros europeas (honey buzzards), los gavilánes (Sparrowhawks), los cernícalos (kestrels), las culebreras (Short-toed Eagles), los buitres leonados (Griffon vultures), aguiluchos laguneros y cenizos (marsh and Montagu's harriers), and I even got to see a Lanner Falcon today. The Black Storks have been a highlight, as well. But I do have a favorite: the Egyptian Vulture. This magnificent bird is listed as Endangered on the IUCN Redlist and needs our help. It's number one threat is electrocution from power lines.

Adult

Adult and juvenile

Juvenile


Recent Posts
bottom of page